1st CAM-CCBC Hanseatic Pre-Moot 4th and 5th April 2017

On 4th and 5th April 2017 the first CAM-CCBC Hanseatic Pre-Moot was held with the support of numerous Hamburg law firms, the Hamburg Arbitration Circle and the Rechtsstandort Hamburg e.V. as well as in cooperation with the Vis Moot Court Alumni Association of the University of Hamburg.

The CAM-CCBC Hanseatic Pre-Moot was based on the problem of the 24th Willem C. Vis Moot Court which, among other things, related to the arbitration rules of Brazilian CAM-CCBC. Against this background, the CAM-CCBC Hanseatic Pre-Moot 2017 was sponsored for the first time by CAM-CCBC.

First, on 4th April 2017 the Hamburg Arbitration Day on the subject of "Interim Orders – in Connection with Arbitral Process", a joint organization of the Bucerius Law School, CAM-CCBC and the Hamburg Arbitration Circle, took place. At the Bucerius Law School inter alia Prof. Dr. Stefan Kröll, Prof. Dr. Nathalie Voser, Prof. Patricia Shaughnessy, Noah Rubins and Carlos Forbes (President of CAM-CCBC) gave lectures. They provided insight into both theoretical aspects as well as practical consequences relating to interim measures. Afterwards, the participants finished off the evening at the reception of Taylor Wessing, overlooking the Harbor City (Hafen City).

On April 5th, the actual CAM-CCBC Hanseatic Pre-Moot followed, in which over the course of several practical sessions the teams had the opportunity to present their pleadings once again before departing to Vienna. With a high number of international participants from South and North America, from Europe to Asia, the teams were able to assess and improve different argumentation strategies. Special thanks go to the supporting law firms Taylor Wessing, Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer LLP, White & Case LLP, Latham & Watkins LLP, CMS Hasche Sigle, Hanefeld Rechtsanwälte, Corinius LLP, GSK Stockmann, Brödermann Jahn, Graf von Westphalen, Luther Rechtsanwaltsgesellschaft mbH and Heuking Kühn Lüer Wojtek.

At the closing evening event at Heuking Kühn Lüer Wojtek, many distinguished individual speakers and teams efforts were awarded by the HAC as well as the CAM-CCBC.

Dr. Elke Umbeck (Heuking Kühn Lüer Wojtek) and Carlos Forbes (President of CAM-CCBC) welcome the participants at the closing event.
Dr. Matthias Schlingmann (CMS Hasche Sigle) awards the distinguished speakers.
Dr. Elke Umbeck (Heuking Kühn Lüer Wojtek), Carlos Forbes (President der CAM-CCBC) and Dr. Matthias Schlingmann (CMS Hasche Sigle) with the awarded speakers.