3rd CAM-CCBC Hanseatic Pre-Moot 19

3rd CAM-CCBC Hanseatic Pre-Moot 9th and 10th April 2019

On the 9th-10th April 2019 the CAM-CCBC Hanseatic Pre-Moot took place for the third time in Hamburg, thus firmly establishing Hamburg as a Pre-Moot location. The event was supported by numerous local law firms, the Hamburg Arbitration Circle, the Rechtsstandort Hamburg e.V. and the Vis Moot Court Alumni Association of the University of Hamburg.
The Pre-Moot kicked off with the Hamburg Arbitration Day at the Bucerius Law School with lectures concerning the implications of data technology on various aspects of dispute resolution. Lectures covered topics from “Cybersecurity in Arbitration”, “Risks of Technology – Digital Evidence in Arbitration” and “The Arrival of Blockchain Arbitration – end of Classic Arbitration and Justice for all?”. Lecturers included among others Susanne Gropp-Stadler (Siemens), Professor Dr. Carlos Alberto Carmona (University of São Paolo), Professor Dr. Mohamed S. Abdel Wahab (Cairo University).
The event ended with the traditional reception at the office of Taylor Wessing, situated on the river Elbe with a stunning view of the Hamburg philharmonic and harbor.
The next morning marked the beginning of the CAM-CCBC Hanseatic Pre-Moot. In this years’ Pre-Moot participants were faced with problems pertaining to the Hong Kong HKIAC Model Clause, the applicability of a poorly drafted hardship clause and the scope of an arbitration clause i.a.. Over the course of the day, teams from South and North America, from Europe to Asia faced off against each other in several practical sessions at different law firms across Hamburg. The teams had the opportunity to present their pleadings, assess and improve different argumentation strategies before they would finally depart to Vienna.
At the closing evening event at Heuking Kühn Lüer Wojtek, the HAC and the CAM-CCBC awarded distinguished individual speakers and teams for their special efforts.
Special thanks go to the supporting law firms Taylor Wessing, Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer LLP, White & Case LLP, Latham & Watkins LLP, CMS Hasche Sigle, Hanefeld Rechtsanwälte, Corinius LLP, GSK Stockmann, Brödermann Jahn, Graf von Westphalen, Luther Rechtsanwaltsgesellschaft mbH and Heuking Kühn Lüer Wojtek.